Daily Prompt: Quote Me


I do! A quote that I return to again and again would be by Belva Plain, “How helpless we are, like netted birds, when we are caught by desire!”

Isn’t that so true? If you really think about it, and I mean REALLY think about it and where you have been in your life journey, makes this resonate in my mind! If you think about a time when you “thought” you loved someone so much.. even though they inflicted pain on you… be it physical, mental, or emotional.. we end up “caught by the passion of desire”.

Let me put it this way, when involved with an alcoholic in a romantic relationship we are beaten down. Our souls become so battered until we are left with nothing! Physically, mentally, and emotionally drained. But we “love” them so we don’t want to leave because we feel we will be betraying them. I at one point in life was involved with someone who had a bad drinking problem. It never stopped or changed regardless of all the promises and because I thought I loved him or did love him or do or which ever…. I was a helpless little bird, caught in a net because of things I desired. I loved/love the man he was when he didn’t drink but I feared him when he drank. It never was physical but emotional is no less than physical pain. I stayed and I left once and came right back. Then I proceeded to attempt again and gave him another chance based on his promises that things would be different. To my surprise, it wasn’t. I should of known. This brings me to another quote I visit frequently. “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over, expecting different results/outcomes.”

I had to make the decision knowing I wasn’t happy there because of the drinking and no matter how many promises were made, they would remain empty. If I wanted to be happy or heal I had to leave. I, myself, and no one else controls my own happiness. No one else. If I am unhappy with my situation only I have the power to change this. So, I did. And I struggled. And I grew. And I learned a lot of different things from the situation.

So please, share with me your favorite and what it is and why it moves you!??

Leave a Reply

