What is your journey?


I have been observing others lately and the conversations that I have with them as I analyze various things in life. Seeking and digging deep for some sort of inspiration or “ah-ha” moment that will inspire an entire body of work and I keep finding myself more confused about my original ideas and different things in life become more clear and the topic of discussions become more frequent. It is very difficult to explain.

I have come to notice after these conversations that we are all on this journey. This journey in life, to identify with who we are, or dig up the past and research history, or given certain unfortunate circumstances—try to understand or find our “new thing” or purpose in life or even where the wind will take us on our next adventure. I have noticed in others as I have noticed in myself that we all seek this meaning or soul purpose of ourselves in this huge world. Some of us believe we are of a past life and are on our journey to put the pieces back together or figure out how to get back to that point in time. So we spend our time researching and trying to dig up some concrete evidence to put a back bone to our recollection of these moments. But we seem to find very little or nothing and refuse to give up.

Others are presented with a life threatening illness that science and research has absolutely no answers too. Medical attention can only carry us so far and all the concrete dreams and plans we had for ourselves have now came to a halt because they are simply just not physically possible. So now we slowly adapt and change our life style in that which best suits our current situation and try to re-figure our purpose in life and believe there has got to be something we can do now in some way given our circumstances. We refuse to give up but yet will fight and remain living life to the fullest.

Then we have those who feel as if we have came to that point in our life and we get stuck there— wondering where we should go from here. What we should do next. Upset and lost for understanding on why we haven’t reached this point in our life yet. So we are at some what of a stand still. Just kind of waiting for what should come next.

And even more others have traveled much and experienced a lot and simply enjoy where we have been and are at currently and are waiting to see where the winds shall carry us next.

And then there those, that observe all of these conversations and as well realize they are along the same paths in life: it is all a journey. For each and every one of us; we are on a journey. We are constantly changing and evolving as people and we never end a journey. It just always continues. Even if we do not realize it: subconsciously we continue our journey.

I had a scare earlier this summer and so many thoughts ran through my mind. All I could think to myself was; “If this is something life threatening and I am this young—- I am going to set out on my journey and start crossing things off my bucket list. I am going to travel with my daughter and spend every waking moment with her living life to the fullest adventure possible.” Luckily, my body recovered the extreme exhaustion. However, we have always been on a journey. It doesn’t start when things go bad, or we reach a certain point in life, or waiting for the next thing. From the moment we are born until the moment we pass –we travel this journey in life. We can go either one of two ways. We can choose to live our journey to the fullest extent and enjoy every minute of it. We can take every bad experience and turn it into a positive or we can dwell on it. We can sit there and wonder–“what if” or feel sorry for ourselves.

Truth is; life is so short. Things happen and can be when we least expect it. Most often you will be blind sided. But we change. The only thing constant in life is change. We adapt to our surroundings. We make the most of our given situations and we learn to push forward.

Lately, life has presented me with a lot of conversations pertaining to our journey in life. I feel like it is supposed to give me this light bulb moment. But yet I grasp and grasp for motivation and inspiration. Inspiration is all around me. I just am having a tough time allowing it to escape. I am trying to make sense of it all— my journey. My next step in life. Where I shall go or what I shall do. I didn’t used to be one much for having a set plan. I have always seemed to enjoy those “just go with it” spontaneous moments. I still don’t want to have a set plan. But even the future is cloudy and unclear. So, today I accept that I must take this life one day at a time. It really isn’t hard to accept. But I sometimes get anxious when I am asked what I plan to do after I graduate. I am a mother and for my child I must have some idea of what will keep things together. But I do not. I am saying today; that I am not thinking past today. I am living in today. Each day will be a new adventure on my journey in life. Each day I will take it one day at a time. And I am alright with that. I am comfortable in saying this. When the time comes I will decide what I will do tomorrow. Life is too full of unexpected occurrences. I want to try new things and do something that scares me. I want to feel alive and enjoy every minute of it.

A journey in life as we are all on one should never be wasted. Live your life to the fullest.

I have also been pondering a lot …….about……. what mark will I leave when I am no longer here. I think of how I want to be remembered or what I want to be remembered for. What kind of impression will I leave on others. How do you want to be remembered when you are no longer here and what do you want to be remembered for?

Assignment for the day:
Tell some one important in your life; what impact or inspiration they have had in your life. I have been doing this over the past couple of years. I have spent time hunting people down and thanking them for how they had touched me and the positive effect they have had on me.

Things are changing rapidly in the world. We need to be more aware of the important things in life such as our loved ones. It’s time for me to make some changes. It’s time to simplify and get rid of the distractions of our technologically crazed lifestyles we have fallen into. I am so angered when I see a family at a table and none of them are talking to each other. They are all on their smart phones. He was so right. That artist from class when he called it the face down generation.

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

